Trudeau says “carbon taxes” should be reallocated to help the poor

http://en.cijnews.com/?p=166423

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau held on Friday, January 13, 2017, a town hall in Peterborough, Ontario. Kathy Katula, of Buckhorn, Ont. confronted Trudeau with her personal story of disability and inherent poverty even though she works up to 15 hours a day and making $50,000 a year. “You failed me,” she said to Trudeau while sharing her hydro bill of more than $1,000 and asking Trudeau to explain how can he justify the carbon taxes and the spike in the hydro bills that surpasses her mortgage payments and forces her to struggle to survive.

Hailing Kathy Katula for her inspiring strength and determination, Trudeau defended his carbon pricing policy saying that the “carbon taxes” collected by the provinces should be used to help vulnerable people like her. According to Trudeau, ending the dependence on fossil fuel is essential and ultimately beneficial financially, because the “extreme weather events that are coming are going to be incredibly expensive.”

The following is the transcript of the Q & A:

Kathy Katula:

I’m really honoured to be here today. I don’t know much about Liberals or Conservatives or any of that. I’m a Christian single hard-working mom who lives in rural [inaudible] Ontario. I overcame many things in my life… to be a rape victim, to beat recovering from meningitis of brain and undergoing… operations to survive with my family, to recovering from a medical error that left me in coma for three days and I’ve been told that I would never walk again…

Mr. Trudeau, I’m very honoured and proud to be Canadian, because we live in a system that offers medical help and we’re offered programs that help people with disabilities go back to school and better themselves…

Mr. Trudeau, but I feel like you failed me and I’m asking you here today doing to fix that. And here is my story. I learned to walk again when people told me I would never walk. I was back to college again when all my friends and neighbors told me you are too old, you’re crippled, nobody will hire you.

I did all that Mr. Trudeau. Know. And seven years ago, when I was hired by my employer by PWS at ExtendedCare in Langfield that I’m very proud to work for, they never vetted my disability and I thrived. I thrived. I told my coworkers and my family that I’m Canadian and two years from today when I started that job, I told them I was going to buy my own home, a single mom living in Ontario Canada, making $20 an hour. I lived off, prepped dinner, hopped off whatever it took to survive…

I’m proud, but something’s wrong Mr. Trudeau. My heat and hydro now cost me more than my mortgage… 75 hours a week, I stay 15 hours a day just that I don’t lose my home. My hydro bill. I want to share with you, a single family home, one person who works hard with a brace onto her leg, partially paralyzed.

Every single day I put that brace on and I’m proud to be Canadian, but something is wrong with our system. And I have faith in you and God that you will work hard to fix it. How do you explain to a woman how she is supposed to pay a hydro bill of $1,085?

I’m asking you Mr. Trudeau, and here is my question today. How do you justify to a mother of four children, three grandchildren, physical disability, working up to 15 hours a day, how it is justified for you to ask me to pay a carbon tax when I have only $65 left in my pay-cheque every two weeks?

I know we need HST, I know we need taxes to fix roads, I know we are a country that welcomes people from everywhere. I’m putting my faith in God and you that you are going to make our country a place that we can prosper again and I won’t have to wake up tomorrow and worry whether I’m thriving or I’m surviving… I make almost $50,000 a year Mr. Trudeau and I’m living in Inherent poverty. Please tell me how you’re going to fix that?

Justin Trudeau:

On behalf of everyone here let me say thank you not just for sharing your story with us, your strength, your determination is an inspiration and example to us all. We are a country in which anyone with a quarter of your strength of your drive should be thriving and focused on how are you going to spoil your grandchildren with all your energy as opposed to how are you going to get through the week or the day.

A lot of different elements coming to your question. A number of them are provincial. Hydro bills are provincial. But as you point out the federal government’s decision to put a price on carbon is something that we have moved forward with and it’s one that is causing consternation amongst a broad range of people and I understand, because carbon and carbon emissions and carbon is part of everything we do, whether it’s heating our homes… or the products we buy…

We need to realize that we are in a time of transition right now, that the world is moving off fossil fuels and that’s a good thing, it is an important thing, because quite frankly the extreme weather events are coming are going to be incredibly expensive not just for communities but for agriculture, for people in the North, people right across the country.

We are facing a challenge and we have to change behaviors and it is important, because changes happen in a way that doesn’t penalize our most vulnerable, that doesn’t make it more difficult for families who are already stretched in to succeed, and that’s one of the reasons why what we’re doing with the putting a price on carbon is we’re leaving it up to the provinces to determine whether a carbon tax or a levy or a cap and trade trade system is right for them, and on the other hand we are not taking any money outside of the jurisdictions that pay those carbon taxes. So it will be up to the government of Ontario to ensure that you are not penalized…

We haven’t brought in any carbon tax yet. It doesn’t start kicking in for another few years. But I understand your concerns and what is so important is that in this time of transition we do not penalize people who are already stretched too in some cases beyond the breaking limits in terms of their finances. And that’s why being smart about how we reallocate those funds is essential. That’s why we’re leaving it in the hands of the provinces to do, and I’m trusting they will do that responsibly and not penalize you further and challenge you on the that.

But we need to get off fossil fuels, we need to make this transition, we need to start protecting our lakes, waters, rivers, streams, our lands, our children’s future and that means we are going to have to go through a challenge here. And the challenge that we have, the a responsibility we have as community, as country is to make sure that the people who are in the most vulnerable positions don’t end up carrying the burden that everyone else is so eager to slope off to someone else…

We were elected on a promise to grow the middle class and help those working hard to join it. The very first thing we did is we lowered taxes for the middle class, we cut the taxes by a little bit and raised them on the wealthiest one percent to make sure that everyone was doing more than their fair share if they were, being successful. The next thing we did this past summer we brought in Canada Child Benefit that gives more money to 910 [thousand] Canadian families every single month. People have received this as of July onward tax free, it’s money that will help every month.

I’m sure [it will used] towards you hydro bills, groceries, a range of things. It’s not the ultimate solution but it makes a big difference in an awful lot of families. The reason we are able to do more for the families that need it is we stopped sending child benefit checks to the wealthiest ones, because again we need to focus on people who need the help.

On infrastructure, yes we’re making investments in public transit that are going to allow people living in urban areas to get to and from work, to be able to afford homes that they can get to work from, that will reduce our carbon emissions and our footprints and invest in the kinds of construction jobs, in designing and planning jobs in the short term that will make a difference that will benefit our entire economy. We’re also investing in roads, bridges and agricultural issues and green infrastructure, and housing, rural housing, social housing that will make a difference right across the country.

We are facing a lot of big challenges, but the focus that we’re taking is on making sure that as we face down these challenges, as we build greater opportunities for you, for your kids, for your grandkids, that we are being thoughtful about listening to your concerns and not making sure that we’re making it harder, not making it harder for you because as you show very very well, you are going full out and the government should be helping you

———-

i thought it was about the environment???

it was never about the environment..its an alleged wealth transfer that will make the 1% richer and the slaves worse off..thats why they have to give them back money..because they are going to be pillaged!

401

~ by seeker401 on January 26, 2017.

2 Responses to “Trudeau says “carbon taxes” should be reallocated to help the poor”

  1. Reblogged this on World Peace Forum.

  2. Canada – more lefty than amurca

Leave a Reply

 
